Wednesday, January 24, 2018

SHOWDOWN: Council Of Europe To Vote Thursday Denouncing President Trump’s Declaration Of Jerusalem As Israel’s Capital

“The assembly regrets the declaration of the president of the United States of America on 6 December 2017 that it was ‘time to officially recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel’ and that preparations would start ‘to move the American Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem,’” stated the latest draft of a resolution before the assembly.

Such a vote also provides another forum for the international community to declare its refusal to accept any part of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital outside the context of a final-status agreement.With 47 member states, including Turkey, the Council of Europe is the continent’s leading human rights body. The United States, Canada, Mexico, Japan and the Holy See have observer status at the council. Israel has observer status at the council’s Parliamentary Assembly, of which the Palestinian National Council is a democratic partner.


No comments:

Post a Comment